The city of Oklahoma implements a program called workers compensation insurance program. This program provides compensation for disability and medical benefits for workers who experience injury while on the job. In the unfortunate event of accidental death, the deceased worker’s dependents receive the benefits.
As provided by the law, an employer should secure the payment for the workers compensation. In the event that the employer fails to comply with this, the worker or his lawyer may proceed with an action in the Workers Compensation Court or in the district court. The worker should report any situation that causes injury to his immediate supervisor as soon as possible. Medical treatment must be obtained within 30 days for a single event injury, and for injuries caused by “repeated” trauma; notice must be given to the employer within 90 days after the worker’s separation from employment.
The employer has the right to choose the treating physician. However, after 7 days of actual notice of the injury and the employer hasn’t provided the necessary medical treatment, the worker is given the right to choose his own physician at the employer’s expense. The worker doesn’t have to pay for any of the medical costs. The employer or the insurance company is obliged to pay for all authorized and necessary care for the worker’s injury.
A worker may file a claim as a result of a job-related injury. If the worker wishes to do so, a Form 3 should be filed with the Workers Compensation Court; Form 3B for occupational disease; and Form 3A for a death claim. For issues or disputes to be resolved between the worker and the employer or their insurance company, the worker or his legal representative must file a Form 9 or Motion to Set for Trials. Court trials are usually necessary when the worker has disputes about his claim. The worker however, has the right but is not required, to be represented by a lawyer. The worker may seek help from an Oklahoma City workers compensation attorney.
Oklahoma City workers compensation attorney may discuss the case with the worker and help him find out whether he is eligible for benefits or not. All attorney fees are at the worker’s expense, as well as the costs in preparing the case for trial.
As previously stated, an employer should secure the payment for the workers compensation, as required by state law. Anyone can report an employer who doesn’t have workers compensation insurance or compels workers to pay for their compensation insurance premiums to the Oklahoma Department of Labor. They can be reached at (405) 521-6100 or toll free statewide at (888) 269-5353. (“Oklahoma workers’ compensation,” 2012)
As a worker or employee, it is his responsibility to always keep in touch with his employer. It is also very important to keep appointments made with the doctor, or else, he may be asked to pay for a no-show fee. For everyone’s best interest, the worker should contact his employer immediately once the doctor issues a fit-to-work clearance. Visit the site for more information.